Make your own free website on
Gulp gulp went the water dragon
The Jacobson's organ Menu

The lacertillia (also called sauria) is the group of reptiles that includes the lizards. Now normally the lizards would fall under the Squamata, but since the squamata also includes the suborder serpentes (snakes) I had to find some way to separate them.

Now the lacertillia is a huge group. They comprise some 3,000 species and are the largest living group of reptiles (you know since we're not including birds).

Lacertillians have adapted themselves to live in almost every environment in the world. They can be found in the tropical rainforests of Brazil and Madagascar, throughout deserts such as the sahara, in the ocean and even in highly urbanized areas.

Now the lacertillia is so huge that I had to list them by their families, under their superfamilies. Next to the names are a basic description of the types of lizards to be found there. From there it will be broken up into genera, with a species list to follow.

Autarchoglossa Iguania Gekkota
Anguidae = The Anguids Agamidae = The Agamids Gekkonidae = The Geckos
Helodermatidae = The Beaded Lizards Chamaeleonidae = The Chameleons Pygopodidae = The Flap Footed Lizards
Lanthanotidae = The Earless Monitor Iguanidae = The Iguanid Lizards
Varanidae = The Monitor Lizards
Xenosauridae = The Knob-scaled Lizards
Cordylidae = The Girdle-tailed Lizards
Dibamidae = The Dibamids
Lacertidae = The Lacertids
Scincidae = The Skinks
Teiidae = The Macroteiids
Gymnophthalmidae = The Microteiids
Xantusiidae = The Night Lizards